Going Back to the Start…

I’m a full-time musician. I belt out “Happy Birthday” in restaurants for forty bucks a pop. I sing for workers in the local malls while they fold t-shirts. I interrupt you while you eat at the restaurant down the street with “I’m here to serenade you.” Recently, I even tried my hand at writing, recording, and filming a jingle for Folgers. I don’t have a backup plan. I don’t have a family of my own. And tonight I rediscovered why I do what I do.

As I stared down the long black and white row of keys in a small piano room at Spring Arbor University’s music building, I finally felt like I was home. I didn’t feel the exhilarating pre-performance adrenaline rush flooding my veins. All my body could focus on were the ivory colored keys that my fingers dabbled on for an hour. I’m not a piano player who you’d sit down and listen to voluntarily, but someday I will be.

I’m not suggesting that I’ll be a great composer or a world renowned player someday. I’m only suggesting that tonight I rediscovered why I’m a musician. I don’t play to earn a paycheck. I play, sing, and write because when I do, “I feel God’s pleasure.”

2 thoughts on “Going Back to the Start…

  1. Loved this simple but profound post. Our creator formed us uniquely his. It’s our quest to find those gifts and talents and use them for his glory. Just HIS. And then everything else that is eternally important will come. Keep playing. Keep praising. He can’t help but be pleased.

Leave a Reply

