Wedding Singer

When I see “wedding” and “singer” mashed together to form a title, my brain activity automatically reverts to Adam Sandler’s stunning rendition of “Love Stinks” in the appropriately titled movie, Wedding Singer. To me, his character accurately represents many mullet-headed “has-been’s” that try to keep their musical glory days alive, not the up and coming singer/songwriters on the verge of musical stardom. Fortunately, In the past three months I’ve learned that the road to success isn’t paved with the golden asphalt of idealism. Usually it’s not even paved, and sometimes it’s not even big enough to be considered a road.

In the past three months I’ve happily taken on alot of the jobs that I used to consider “taboo” or “below me.” For example, I never thought I’d make a living as a door to door salesman, yet every day I sell cd’s door to door. I also never believed I’d sing birthday or holiday grams to make ends meet, but that’s how I earn extra cash. And at the peak of my “never thought” list, sits “Wedding Singer.” This weekend though, I will happily break all of my prejudices and preconceived notions by getting paid to sing six to eight songs in a friend’s wedding. Here’s how it happened.

For the last week and a half, my money supply has been slowly dwindling because I accidentally put myself in a proverbial Catch 22. My explanation: Over the past few months, I’ve sold between 550 and 570 cd’s. During that period, I bought a lot of marketing materials, paid for daily expenses, and reinvested in new equipment and props for videos. All of that spending left me with little or no savings. Long story short: I had to sell every album in my possession before I had enough money to reorder another batch of cd’s. Since each reorder has a three and a half week turnaround time from the manufacturer, my main source of income (selling cd’s) has disappeared for the last two and a half weeks.

I’m not writing this so that you’ll pity me, send me money, or picture me as a “starving artist” struggling against all odds to reach his goal. In fact, I don’t broadcast my financial needs on facebook, blogs, or even to my good friends. When I’m in need, I pray because I trust that my Father in heaven will provide for me every single time, and He does. He did it again this time, and that’s why I’m writing this blog.

For the last four days, my gas tank, wallet, and checking account were each a couple bucks from being empty. My parents didn’t know, but they invited me over for dinner every night. Mr. Spice, my lifting partner and longtime friend, didn’t know, but he asked me to stay for breakfast one morning. Gabe Mullins, my best friend, didn’t know the full extent of it, but he bought me two five layer burritos from Taco Bell. Because of my friends’ and family’s spontaneous generosity, I always had enough to eat, even when I had no money to spend on food.

Today at 10:15 a.m. after my Buick barely sputtered into a BP gas station on West Ave. in Jackson, I emptied my last $1.83 into BP’s unleaded 87 pump. $1.83 didn’t even qualify my car for a full gallon of gas, but I didn’t need a whole gallon because God had already provided for me. Three days ago, my friend Mary facebooked me to let me know that her sister, Anna, wanted me to play guitar and sing some of my songs for her wedding. Mary also let me know that there would be money involved.

I only needed gas this morning so that I could drive 2 miles down the road to meet Mary and her sister for brunch and get paid. Four hours after being completely  broke, I have a good amount of money in the bank, gas in my Buick, food in the fridge, and only a week left until I get 1,000 cd’s in the mail.

When I follow God’s lead, He always provides. Even if I’ve made silly financial mistakes, God has never failed me.  He’s a Father who loves to provide in unexpected ways, whether it’s through a friend ordering a little extra in the Taco Bell drive thru or a surprise job opportunity at a wedding. God is a great dad, who can even change your attitude toward certain jobs. I can truthfully say, “I’m pumped to be a wedding singer this weekend!”

 

“What man is there among you who, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!” – Jesus

Leave a Reply

